About the Mad River Valley Planning District

The Mad River Valley Planning District was created in 1985 by the Towns of Fayston, Waitsfield and Warren. The Purpose of the Planning District is to "carry out a program of planning for the future of the Mad River Valley. The planning program shall be directed toward the physical, social, economic, fiscal, environmental, cultural and aesthetic well being of the member Towns and its inhabitants." Review the Articles of Agreement. MOU_Sugarbush

The Planning District currently has a full time Executive Director and a part-time Planning Coordinator. The District is governed by a Steering Committee that consists of a Selectboard Member and a Planning Commission member from each of the three member Towns, a business representative from the Mad River Valley Chamber of Commerce, and a non-voting representative from Sugarbush Resort. The Central Vermont Regional Planning Commission (CVRPC) has a non-voting ex-officio seat. The three towns and Sugarbush fund the Planning District equally.

The Steering Committee currently consists of:
Fayston Select Board — Jared Cadwell
Fayston Planning Commission — Carol Chamberlin
Waitsfield Select Board — Kari Dolan
Waitsfield Planning Commission — Steve Shea
Warren Select Board — Bob Ackland (Chair)
Warren Planning Commission — Jim Sanford (Vice-Chair)
Mad River Valley Chamber of Commerce — Peter MacLaren
Sugarbush Resort — Margo Wade
CVRPC — Laurie Emery

Meetings are generally held the third Thursday of each month at 7pm at the Wait House, 4061 Main Street, Waitsfield and the public is welcome to attend. Agendas will be posted to the website prior to each meeting.

Here is a 30 year retrospective of MRVPD's work



©2008-2018 Mad River Valley Planning District • PO Box 471 • Waitsfield, VT 05673 • 802-496-7173

Website by Mad River Web